Customer Reviews

Comments from from clients who have ordered a custom wand. (Newest at the top.)

From David C. (USA)

posted Oct 21, 2018, 8:46 PM by Praeclarus Wands

"You were such an absolute pleasure to work with for this entire process! It was clear to me you wanted to get to know the character behind the wand, not just the customer. You were also so patient and understanding when I had any questions that arose! I know now that there is NO-ONE I would rather have making my wands!!

Excited to see where you take any future designs I may have!"  - David C. 

(Wandmaker's note: David participated in the College of Wizardry LARP held in Poland. He commissioned this wand for the character he portrayed.)

From Madge D. (USA)

posted Jul 30, 2018, 11:08 PM by Praeclarus Wands

"Ordering my first Praeclarus Wand was a joy from start to finish.  Maranda collaborated with me every step of the way, and her communication was stellar, especially considering the time difference between us.  (And my ignorance of the Harry Potter world, as I ordered a wand based on another fandom, Tolkien's Lord of the Rings.) 

She created a strong, beautiful wand for me, exactly what I envisioned and requested.  I love it to bits!  Her artistry and craftsmanship are exemplary, and I would recommend her wands to anyone who is looking for a creative, carefully designed and crafted wand that is both personal and unique.  Thanks, Maranda!"  
- Madge D. 

From Katrina N.

posted Jul 2, 2017, 8:05 PM by Praeclarus Wands   [ updated Jul 30, 2018, 11:14 PM ]

Read the complete review on Katrina's blog (archived): https://web.archive.org/web/20161104003838/http://thelittleseawitch.net/?p=3917

IMG_0960IMG_0961IMG_0962"My wands are here!!!

 [. . .] The birch wand! (HP stats: birch and phoenix feather, 11 3/4″, swishy. The card she included says ‘The birch wand’s symbolism of growth and rebirth make it particularly suited to the phoenix core. Together, this pairing seeks out owners who are highly individual and aren’t afraid to explore uncharted territory. Birch & phoenix wands have a knack for all sorts of repair and rejuvenation spells.’) The wand has been lightly stained with a warm golden color, the rounded pommel has some texturing inspired by tree roots, and the deep inset spiral works its way out to a raised spiral effect. Turning it in my hand, the wand has a wavy look to it- it doesn’t appear entirely straight from any angle.

The bog oak wand! (HP stats: bog oak and dragon heartstring, 11 3/4″, rigid. The included card says ‘Bog oak wands retain many of the qualities of regular wandwood-quality oak, but in unpredictable ways. Combined with a dragon core, this usually solidifies into a strength for nature-assisted combat magic. Bog oak & dragon wands prefer owners with powerful intuition and unshakable loyalty.’) The wand is unstained, the pointed pommel has some hammered/chiseled texture, and the raised spiral twists into an inset spiral. Despite the twists, the wand appears perfectly straight.

If you’re reading these and going ‘holy Hufflepuff, Batman’ you are right! It was utterly, entirely unintentional, but the birch ended up showing the earthy, warm yellow side, and the bog oak ended up reflecting the unshakable, iron-black side. It’s obvious in retrospect, and to be honest I’m both amused and very happy.

Lastly, I asked for a slightly odd request: miniature versions of the wands that I could wear as pendants. I adore my wands, and even before we started designing them I knew I would. But they’re not really ‘carry around with you’ kinds of things, and it made me a little sad to think that I’d only enjoy them at home . . . When I opened the box I was tempted to put them on my charm bracelet so I could wear them all the time, but they’re real wood so I’m concerned they’ll get broken. Pendants they will remain! . . . The next challenge will be to actually focus on something today, instead of continuously opening the boxes and squealing!"

From Sarah O. (Canada)

posted Oct 1, 2015, 11:41 PM by Praeclarus Wands   [ updated Oct 1, 2015, 11:41 PM ]

"Having now purchased two wands, each on separate occasions, I can honestly say that should I ever feel the need to get another, be it for a gift or for myself, I wouldn't ever think of going to anyone else. To be able to watch your wand go from design to final product is something you simply don't get if you just buy a replica off the internet or at a theme park. Beyond that, the knowledge that your wand is the only one like that will ever exist makes it just that much more special. 

My sister's wand looks exactly as I pictured it in my head. For someone who has trouble getting the images in my head out of my head, that's really super-cool. What's more is that I know she's going to love it, and it makes me so excited to give it to her. If only I didn't have to wait until Christmas!"
- Sarah O. (September, 2015)

Customer Service Review - from H.J.

posted Jun 24, 2015, 10:45 PM by Praeclarus Wands   [ updated Jun 24, 2015, 10:46 PM ]

"Although I didn't end up purchasing anything from Maranda, she was a very enjoyable person to work with. Every question I asked was answered promptly and thoroughly. There was even one point where I asked if she had something, and she was willing to purchase it in order to fit my liking. She is such a kind woman and I hope to do business with her in the future. I know for sure I will be recommending her to my friends."  - H.J. (June 2015)

From Alec P. (FL, USA)

posted Apr 18, 2015, 10:03 PM by Praeclarus Wands   [ updated Apr 12, 2018, 8:19 PM ]

"From the start, Maranda was very fast at responding to emails and was able to help me all throughout the process from the simple idea of the wand to it being shipped. She is very friendly and nice to all her customers. Just from some simple reference pictures, she was able to get a full idea and carve exactly what I was looking for once I paid. Only a truly amazing artist could have the skill and patience to do that. Even the small details such as the amazing packaging really make it worth every penny. So, with all of that said, I highly recommend Praeclarus Wands  if you are a Potterhead like I am. You won't be disappointed." 
- Alec P. (January 2015)

From Bryan B. (WA, USA)

posted Dec 9, 2013, 7:01 PM by Maranda Li   [ updated Apr 12, 2018, 8:20 PM by Praeclarus Wands ]

"I received my wand today! It was wrapped so beautifully and with so much detail that it almost broke my heart to open it. I love this wand! All the extra little things you add with each wand is amazing, I can't begin to describe how happy and in awe I was with everything! You are a fantastic artist who clearly loves what they do. I'm proud to hold my wand and show it off and I'm also proud to count you as a friend. Thank you so so much for everything Maranda!"

From Christine W. (Canada)

posted Dec 9, 2013, 6:56 PM by Maranda Li   [ updated Apr 12, 2018, 8:20 PM by Praeclarus Wands ]

"I loved everything.  Have been playing with it ever since I received it and it feels right, and it looks so beautiful.   Thank you so much Maranda you are truly very special, not just your many talents but your heart is very special as well.  You are very caring and thoughtful and I believe strong as well.  You make me proud to be part of the magical community."

From Brandon J. (New Zealand)

posted Dec 9, 2013, 12:14 PM by Maranda Li   [ updated Apr 12, 2018, 8:21 PM by Praeclarus Wands ]

"The wand for Renee arrived today and we were both stunned... Everything from the packaging to the attention paid to the wand itself was nothing short of spectacular.  The little things, and the love and care given to the most minute details makes it one of the finest gifts ever... and what's even more amazing is that I received more "bang" for my buck in a custom item than in most "off the shelf" purchases.  Watching Renee open the wand itself was like watching a kid at Christmas... the packaging was utter perfection, and she did take extra care not to destroy the outer wrapping.  I read each letter and each description of the wand aloud to her, watching her smile at the wand hidden beneath the ribbon, and when she finally removed it from the box, she immediately lit up and started waving it around.  Sadly, no books flew off the shelves.  ;)

I just want to say thank you from the bottom of our hearts - it was well worth the wait, and I look forward to creating something else with you in the future!"

From Teresa G. (AL, USA)

posted Dec 9, 2013, 12:07 PM by Maranda Li   [ updated Apr 19, 2015, 1:02 AM by Praeclarus Wands ]


Follow the link to watch Teresa's Youtube video review:  /watch?v=tmOHuDR1RXo

1-10 of 19